The purpose of the Federation is to promote the advancement of neuroscience research and education in the Asian Oceanian regions, which include Asian countries, Australia, New Zealand and Islands in the Pacific and Indian Oceans. The Federation shall aim also at contributing to the advancement of neuroscience worldwide.

Executive Committee and Council

The Federation of Asian-Oceanian Neuroscience Societies

FAONS Executive Committee Members (2017-18)

President: Michisuke Yuzaki, M.D., Ph.D.

Keio University Graduate School of Medicine, Shinjuku-ku, Japan

email: myuzaki@a5.keio.jp

FAONS President

Michisuke Yuzaki, M.D., Ph.D.

The Japan Neuroscience Society 

The 8th FAONS Meeting

Dean & Professor

Keio University Graduate School of Medicine

email: myuzaki@a5.keio.jp


FAONS Secretary

FAONS Treasurer

Secretary: Dr. Sung-Jin Jeong

Korea Brain Research Institute, Daegu,

South Korea

email: sjjeong@kbri.re.kr

Treasurer: Prof. Tadashi Isa

Graduate School of Medicine & Faculty of Medicine, Kyoto University, Japan

email: isa.tadashi.7u@kyoto-u.ac.jp

Honorary President: Prof. Masao Ito

RIKEN Brain Research Institute,
2-1 Hirosawa,Wako, Saitama 351-01,

email: masao@brain.riken.go.jp

Dr. Sung-Jin Jeong

Past President

Prof. Tadashi Isa

Past President: Adhi Wibowo Nurhidayat

Indonesia Neuroscience Institute, Jakarta, Indonesia

email: adhinur@indoneuroscience.org

Adhi Wibowo Nurhidayat

Member Societies

For a list of FAONS member societies and contact details, please go to the About FAONS page.

FAONS Member Societies and their representatives

­Australasian Neuroscience Society

(Representing Australian and New Zealand Neuroscientists)

Prof. Linda J. Richards (President)

Deputy Director, Queensland Brain Institute

Chair, Australian Brain Alliance

Tel: +61 7 334 66355

email: richards@uq.edu.au

Prof. Wickliffe C. Abraham, (President Elect)

Co-Director, Brain Research New Zealand-Rangahau Roro Aotearoa

Professor, Department of Psychology, University of Otago

Tel: +64-(0)3-479-7648

email: cabraham@psy.otago.ac.nz


The Chinese Neuroscience Society

Prof. Shumin Duan (President)

Department of Neurobiology
Zhejiang University School of Medicine
Zhejiang University, P.R. China

email: duanshumin@zju.edu.cn

Prof. Shigang He (Secretary-In-General)

email: shiganghe@moon.ibp.ac.cn


Taiwan Neuroscience Society

Prof. Wen-Sung Lai (President)

Department of Psychology, National Taiwan University,

Taipei, Taiwan

email: wslai@ntu.edu.tw

Prof. Chien-Yuan Pan (Secretary General)

Department of Life Science, National Taiwan University,

Taipei, Taiwan

email: cypan@ntu.edu.tw


The Korean Society for Brain and Neural Sciences

Prof. Sung-Oh Huh (President)

email: s0huh@hallym.ac.kr

Prof. Sung-Jin Jeong (Committe member)

email: sjjeong@kbri.re.kr


Indian Academy of Neuroscience

Dr. Subrata Sinha (Vice President)

National Brain Research Centre

N.H.8, Nainwal Mode Manesar- 122 050

email: subrata.sinha@nbrc.ac.in


Thai Neuroscience Society

Prof. Piyarat Govitrapong (Representative)

email: piyarat.gov@mahidol.ac.th

Associate Professor Kanokwan Tilokskulchai

email: siktl@mahidol.ac.th

Department of Physiology, Faculty of Siriraj Medicine, Mahidol University, Rama 6 Rd., Bangkok 10400, Thailand

email: scsct@mahidol.th


Mongolian Neuroscience Society

Dr. Battuvshin Lkhagvasuren (Executive Director)

Science and Technology Center, Mongolian National University of Medical Sciences. Zorig street 3, Ulaanbaatar 14210  Tel: +97699192738

email: battuvshin@neuroscience.mn

­The Hong Kong Society of Neurosciences

Prof. Ying-Shing Chan (International Representative)

Department of Physiology, 
Li Ka Shing Faculty of Medicine,
The University of Hong Kong,
21 Sassoon Road, 
Tel: (852) 28199263
Fax: (852) 28559730

email: yschan@hku.hk


Japan Neuroscience Society

Prof. Tadashi Isa (President)

National Institute for Physiological Sciences,

Mydodaiji, Okazaki 444-8585, Japan

email: isa.tadashi.7u@kyoto-u.ac.jp


Malaysian Society of Neurosciences

Dr. Muzaimi Mustapha (Vice President)

Universiti Sains Malaysia

email: mmuzaimi@usm.my


Iran Neuroscience Society

Prof. Mohammad Taghi Joghataei (President)

Department of Neuroscience, School of Advanced Technologies in Medicine,

Iran University of Medical Sciences, Tehran, Iran

Telefax: 98 21 8862 2689

email: mt.joghataei@yahoo.com

Prof. Abbas Haghparast (General Secretary)

Neuroscience Research Center, Shahid Beheshti University of Medical Science, P.O. Box 19615-1178, Tehran, Iran

Telefax: 98 21 2242 1624

email: haghparast@sbmu.ac.ir


Singapore Neuroscience Association

Prof. S. Thameem Dheen (President)

Department of Anatomy, National University of Singapore, 10 Kent Ridge Crescent, Singapore 119260, Republic of Singapore

email: antstd@nus.edu.sg


Phillippine Society for Neuroscience

Dr. Cesar V. Borlongan (President)

Department of Neurosurgery and Brain Repair, University of South Florida College of Medicine

email: cborlongan@health.usf.edu


Neuroscience Society of Sri Lanka

Dr. Ranil De Silva (President)

Department of Anatomy, Faculty of Medical Sciences, University of Sri Jayewardenepura, Nugegoda, Sri Lanka  Tel: 94-11-2636364  Fax: 94-11-5524323

email: ranil@sjp.ac.lk


Neuroscience Society of Nepal (NSN)

Dr. Sunil Dhungel (President)

Associate Professor, College of Medicine, Department of Clinical Physiology, Nepalese Army Institute of Health Sciences (NAIHS) Kathmandu, Nepal

email: sunil.dhungel@nsnnepal.org

website: http://nsnnepal.org/

Tel: 9779851214177


Dr. Ajaya Jung Kunwar (Vice President)

Associate Professor, Department of Human Anatomy, College of Medicine, Nepalese Army Institute of Health Sciences (NAIHS) Kathmandu, Nepal

email: ajayakunwar@gmail.com

Tel: 9779852026560